From the Editor’s Perch

Art Walk Seattle

One of the reasons I put so much time and energy into creating this blog – besides the fun – is to find out why I put so much time and energy into this blog?  Last night I believe I got a little closer in my search when I stopped into the Union Gospel Mission Arts From the Streets exhibit, to have a look around.  Art is like gold; it’s where you find it.  And in that, I suppose it’s a little like God’s Grace; His thinking is not like ours.  Humans tend to demand all of the trappings of success and power before they will entertain a thought or suggestion.  Like the poor street musician in Joannie Mitchell’s song who was ignored because “they knew he had never been on their TV, and so they passed his music by”.  Art without the right look or connections, often doesn’t get the audience.  Perhaps this is why artists tend to get so political.  All of these small bits of free beauty continually say to them, that there is an entirely different way of looking at things; wake up!  It’s worth your support.

Anyway, it’s sort of a standard of this blog that as soon as it’s ‘successful’ – we don’t cover it.  The whole point is this idea of found beauty.  Once it’s available and ready for purchase – there’s all sorts of people out there pushing it.  They don’t need my energies. 

Joey Pollitt Had Some Interesting Things To Say

But.  Back to the latest nugget I found at the Union Gospel Mission: Joey Pollitt.  Here’s a photo of him, his work, plus about 3 minutes of conversation.

An Old Window Sash Makes Quite a Good Frame

    (About 3 minutes.)

Photos by Carl Nelson

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “From the Editor’s Perch”

  1. katevrijmoet Says:

    Thanks for writing so passionately about art, thanks for signing my guest book so I could find your blog, and thanks for coming into my studio last night to experience my interactive installation in the TK! Hope to see you around again. :o)

Leave a Reply

