Work, work, work… with Rita Andreeva

How to Get Rid of Cockroaches

Editor’s Note:  Rita is being paid by the landlord $25.00/tenant to talk to the people in her apartment building about the cockroach problem.  What I’m saying is, you’re dealing with a professional here.

“First, I suggest getting a possum as a pet. Possums hunt cockroaches.  I tried to find some baby possums on craigslist, but no one has any. I’m sure they would be great – people have rats and ferrets as pets, so why not a possum. I would try recruiting some homeless bum to try to catch a pregnant possum.

No other animal likes to eat cockroaches. In fact, my cat made friends with them. When i caught some in a jar trap, Iris meowed, asking me to let them out, and when I wouldn’t, she tipped over the jar and let them out herself.

To make a cockroach trap:  get an empty bottle or a jar, put some peanut butter on the bottom, smear some butter on the inside neck of the bottle so the bugs can’t climb out, and put the trap wherever you see cockroaches. It works great, and it is completely free.

Tribal Rituals?

Sometimes I feel bad killing them – they act so intelligently. A couple of times a large old cockroach came to meet me and just sat there on the wall, right in front of my face, staring at me and wiggling his whiskers; I believe he was sent as an ambassador to try to make some sort of a deal, but, you know the saying, “don’t shoot the messenger”…
Interestingly, each time it was a large old male cockroach trying to approach me. That could mean that is possible that they have like an old wise cockroach like a shaman or something that attempts to communicate to humans. Or it could be some ritual, where the biggest and the bravest of males goes to take on a human. It could also be rule: like a cockroach tribe leader is asked to go talk to a human after a certain time of being a leader – that could be a way for them to keep the tribe from becoming a dictatorship and to rotate the leaders. There is, of course, another possibility – that those male cockroaches were attracted to me and were asking me out…”  – Rita

Drawing by Carl Nelson

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Work, work, work… with Rita Andreeva”

  1. Roaches in house causes Says:

    Spray roach killer frequently under sinks, in the basement and around aand
    under the refrigerator, washer and dryer. I have beewn trying hard too geet rid of roaches ever
    since I started my family. Almost everybody within the area wass roused
    ffom their sleep because oof the commotion.

  2. femininperles.com Says:

    Work – work – work

    How to Get Rid of Cockroaches Editor’s Note:  Rita is being paid by the landlord $25.00/tenant to talk to the people in her apartment building about the cockroach problem.  What I’m saying is, you’re dealing with a professional here. “First, I sugg…

Leave a Reply

