Travelling Expenses

Editor’s Note:  Paul Eenhoorn is a quite noted/respected  actor about town and has a lot of varied experience to offer us.  He also writes quite well.  He’s suffered a few setbacks of late which he shared on Facebook.  Experiences he has written about with poignancy.  Which are unique – and also quite familiar, more or lessto the mass of us laboring in the Arts.  So I invited him to write a bit more about it here: about real life in the Arts.  My provisional title for Paul’s Column comes from the poem by Vladimir Mayakovsky:

“Citizen!

Consider my travelling expenses:

Poetry –

all of it –

is a journey to the Unknown.”

Paul Eenhoorn Playing “Pops” Marigold for TV

PART ONE 

“Back from Two weeks shooting in Reno!! It was a tough but rewarding shoot. Spent the two weeks depressed mostly.

I run on cash flow as being unemployed or underemployed over the past three years has cost us dearly. I really thought more money would be in by now from my new found sales job.

This year started auspiciously when Steph spent ten days in Overlake over Christmas with a spinal infection which we thought was a pulled muscle. By the time we got her to Overlake the doctors had a hard time controlling a blood infection. She was in really bad shape. Then there were the antibiotic transfusions for the next three months. Needless too say this all set us back even though we were insured. Also in the last year as a result of this recession we nearly lost our home and were lucky to get a loan modification.

I was talking to a close friend yesterday who has been through life and he said I should tell people about my life. I am not looking for sympathy I am in this situation and that’s all it is.

Also in the last year I shot four feature films, a TV pilot, various corporate shoots, a web show, a handful of shorts. For all that work I have earned $3000.00 most of it from corporate shoots. For that I have made myself available for friends who needed me and framed my life to accommodate the industry in Seattle. No wonder Steph looks at me and presumes me insane. My thoughts of ending this life had became so overpowering that I take anti depressants to help keep me up. It’s really hard to know you have what it takes, (based upon the feedback of others), chase the goal, frame your life to accommodate it and still try to make some sort of living in a recession. I know there are others in this place I am in who have similar pain; they have shared it with me.

I drive a beaten up Ford Windstar because I own it and it keeps running. Oh yeah I am really enjoying the fruits of my labor. I can’t even pay my phone bill, boy am I stupid.

Then there was the 55 days of the campaign on Room 13 full time at insane hours that netted me a princely sum and a whole lot of stress that I am still carrying.

I have a handful of friends that I know are my friends people like Ricco, Ross, Ernie, Richard, Andy, Becka, Aria, who actually call me on their old fashioned Cell Phone, just to say Hi, not because they want anything. Yet there are people I have done work for (unpaid of course) who won’t even return a phone call. I have a lot of shortcomings and I work on them daily. I might be stupid, imprudent, and too optimistic, with bad habits, but i try to stay loyal to friends.

To everyone who has helped Room 13 thanks. I love you all , all of you in this town who work against odds that a blind man could see are insurmountable; yet away we toil. Someone show me a brick wall that I can beat my head against. I obviously love pain.”  – Paul

Photo by Carl Nelson

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

